Parable of a blind love

Many months before my birth while I was living in a strange world, I heard the beating of that which sounded like a drum. Fearing that it warned of oncoming danger, I curled in a fetal position, in an attempt to protect myself.

For a while, I waited helplessly in this position, but the more I listened the more it became clear that the beat wasn’t that of a drum warning of oncoming danger but rather the rhythm of a stranger’s heart, humming to me its love.

I was a stranger living within the body of a stranger; a stranger who had become my world. A human sun, warming me with the heat of her body. And like a tree, she breathed oxygen within my developing lungs. My fragile existence stayed afloat in her unbroken body of water. And her flesh was my earth; the only matter in life that matters.

As if I was a chosen child of a goddess, without sweating or asking, she fed me with manna which fell from her heavenly mouth above. Though her face was a mystery and her name I didn’t know, I fell in love with this stranger.

People often ask, “What was my first experience In life?”

And to them, I say, “My first experience came from the love of a stranger.”

As she pushed me closer to the outer world, I felt the palpable pull from an unpleasant masculine force that had always plagued her life with pangs. Fearing to leave the only world I knew and to meet this unpleasant force, I repeatedly kicked against her protective wall of flesh but my kicks were futile against the strength of her push.

When I was born, my nascent eyes couldn’t recognize which of the unknown faces that surrounded me belonged to the stranger who had shown me so much love. Then suddenly I heard a familiar sound that led me to her unfamiliar face: the rhythm of the heart that had hummed to me its love. With a mixture of love and fear, I took my first act In a new and strange world, clinging to the stranger who for nine months I blindly loved.


Leave a comment